You are committed to the smooth operation of the housing market by specialising in one or more of the following services: sale, purchase or lettings, residential development, planning, investment or lending, property management, surveys, or valuation. You may specialise further based on your employer and client-base, where your focus may be on single private dwellings, residential blocks, social housing or large community developments.

To become a Chartered Member on the Residential pathway, you will be assessed against four out of 12 Core Competencies and four of the Optional Competencies.

Core Competencies: two to Level 3 and two to Level 2

  • Building pathology.
  • Housing maintenance, repairs and improvements.
  • Housing management and policy.
  • Housing strategy and provision.
  • Inspection (mandatory to at least Level 2).
  • Leasing and letting.
  • Legal/regulatory compliance.
  • Market appraisal.
  • Measurement (mandatory to at least Level 2).
  • Property management.
  • Purchase and sale.
  • Valuation (mandatory to at least Level 2).

Optional Competencies: two to Level 3 and one to Level 2

  • Auctioneering
  • Capital taxation
  • Compulsory purchase and compensation
  • Conflict avoidance, management and dispute resolution procedures or Sustainability
  • Data management
  • Development appraisals
  • Environmental assessments
  • Indirect investment vehicles
  • Investment management (including fund and portfolio management)
  • Land use and diversification
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Loan security valuation
  • Local taxation/assessments
  • Maintenance management
  • Planning and development management
  • Property management
  • Purchase and sale
  • Risk management
  • Spatial planning policy and infrastructure
  • Strategic real estate consultancy
  • Supplier management

Plus one to Level 2 from either the Core Competencies or Optional Competencies.

For further advice on the Residential pathway please register your detailsĀ here and one of the Residential team will be in touch